The Principal Fellows Commission is responsible for adopting stringent standards to ensure that only the best potential students receive scholarship loans under PFP,  determining selection criteria and methods of selection of Principal Fellows, selecting Principal Fellows and informing the SEAA of its decisions, approving standards for PFP renewal, and determining criteria for continuation in the PFP. The Commission is staffed and chaired by the Director of Principal Fellows Program.

Upon naming Principal Fellows, the Commission transfers its decisions to SEAA which performs all fiscal administrative functions to implement the disbursement of funds, and either receipt of funds in the form of cash repayment or service forgiveness of the scholarship loan.

The Principal Fellows Commission

The Commission consists of 12 members:

  • One member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina
  • One member of the State Board of Education
  • Two deans of schools of education
  • One public school teacher
  • One public school principal
  • A local superintendent
  • One member to represent business and industry
  • One local school board member
  • One parent of a public school child
  • The chairperson of the State Education Assistance Authority
  • The director of the Principal Fellows Program

Rules and Regulations

All Principal Fellows agree to comply with the rules and regulations of the Program. A complete listing of the rules and regulations of the program can be found at